# Saskatchewan Horse Federation 2019 Nomination Report

The Nomination Committee is established each year to meet specific purposes of the Federation which are:

- 1. Determine a slate of qualified individual members to run for election to the Board of Directors at the Annual General Meeting.
- 2. Ensure, by its recommendations, the smooth operation of the Federation.

The current Nomination Committee members are:

- 1. Nominations Chair, Doug Howe (Past President SHF)
- 2. Ray Whitney (SHF Director)
- 3. Shirley Brodsky (SHF Chair)
- 4. Kate Robinson (Committee Member-At-Large)

Selecting a slate of nominees, the Committee is charged with the responsibility to make competency-based recommendations with consideration for regional and interest group representation, required expertise at the board table and a nominee's commitment.

The Board of Directors of the Saskatchewan Horse Federation Inc is comprised of twelve Directors holding three-year terms, one Director-at-Large holding a one year-term, and the Past-President – for a total of 14 Directors.

At the March 17, 2018 AGM the Membership approved a motion to amend article 6.3 Director Terms from four consecutive two-year terms to three consecutive three-year terms.

The 2019 Board of Director vacancies include six (6) three-year term Director positions and a one-year term for Director-at-Large.

#### **Retiring Director:**

1. Al McKim (Humboldt)

### Directors Completing two-year term and eligible for re-election to three-year term in 2019:

- 1. Jason Hanley (Langham)
- 2. Norm Kohle (Grandora)
- 3. Shirley Mawson (Battleford)
- 4. Pat Michael (Regina)
- 5. Ray Whitney (Moose Jaw)

### **Directors Continuing to serve in 2019:**

- 1. Shirley Brodsky (Saskatoon)
- 2. Ron Farrow (Dalmeny)
- 3. Carol Masecar (Val Marie)
- 4. Lorraine Gilchrist (Asquith)
- 5. Jim Sawatsky (Humboldt)
- 6. Gloria Stephen (Delisle)

The Nomination Committee met to review the seven (7) nominations received by January 3, 2019 and to make recommendations to the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors, on the Recommendation of the Nomination Committee, recommends the following seven candidates be circulated to the Membership for consideration at the March 9, 2019 AGM.

# **Nominations for three-year Director Terms:**

#### Incumbents:

- 1. Jason Hanley (Langham)
- 2. Norm Kohle (Grandora)
- 3. Shirley Mawson (Battleford)
- 4. Pat Michael (Regina)
- 5. Ray Whitney (Moose Jaw)

# **Members-at-Large**

- 1. Marci Perrin (Moose Jaw)
- 2. Victoria Kendall (Saskatoon)

# **Candidate Bios:**

	Name	Competencies
1	Jason Hanley (incumbent)	Presently serving on the Board as VP Industry. Represents SHF on Equine Expo and CWA Committees. Member of the Ranch Roping Association (actively competing with family members), Vaulting advocate (daughter competes), and many years as a horse owner.
2	Victoria Kendall	Owner/Manager/Coach/Trainer at Ebon Stables, 30 years involvement with the horse industry in SK, recreation, breeding, competitions, coaching, boarding facility. Presently representing the SHF on the Equine Expo Committee, serving on the Competition Review Committee and liaison with the HP Committee in hosting the HP Symposium. Knowledge of EC, and governance by serving as office manager of the CWHBA. Has served on the SHJA Board, and currently chairs the Prairie Cup Committee.
3	Norm Kohle (incumbent)	Farrier. Currently serving on the SHF Board as VP Equine Diversity. Has represented the SHF on Equine Expo and CWA Committees. Works with WCVM and Farrier associations in collaborative education on therapeutic trimming and shoeing. Knowledge of multiple High-Performance disciplines as well as many other groups, including recreation.
4	Shirley Mawson (incumbent)	Presently Serving on the SHF Board as VP Sport. Chair of Heritage Circuit and the Heritage Finals. Serves on Competition, Officials, Competition Review and Coaching Committees. Active

		in Rule boo review and point tabulation for Heritage and PC
		Committees. Competitor, competition organizer, coach and
		breeder. Involved with 4H, Pony Club and Ag Societies.
5	Pat Michael	Presently serving on the SHF Board. Working on
	(incumbent)	Communication and Club education. Serves on the SHF Officials,
		Coaching, Raffle and Provincial Finals Committees. EC Official
		for both Western and English Dressage, Coach and Clinician.
		Long time volunteer on the Dressage Discipline Group and
		adjudicator of HP grant applications.
6	Marci Perrin	Office Manager of the MJEx Co. Recreational rider who grew up
		with horses. Experienced horse show secretary for English,
		Western and GP competitions. Worked with RDDA for over 3
		seasons, and with the Heritage Provincial Finals. Interested in
		many aspects of the equine industry.
7	Ray Whitney	Horse involvement spans 40 years – raising, training and
	(incumbent)	showing horses with family in the H/J and Dressage disciplines.
		Experience with show committees, MJEx (chairing the Spring
		Show and Summer Fair many times). Presently serving on the
		SHF Board, and member of the Equine Health and Welfare,
		Nominating, Governance Heritage Finals Committees. Director
		of the Provincial SPCA for 2 years.